University Of Waikato — Education Charity in Hamilton
University Of Waikato is a Trust charity in the Education sector, based in Hamilton, Hamilton. CharityData rates this charity C- (56.9/100). Annual revenue: $317.4M NZD. 1 red flag detected. Financial data as at December 2023.
Mission: The University of Waikato provides goods and services for community and social benefit, primarily through the provision of tertiary education and research.
- Registration Number
- CC30907
- Charity Type
- Trust
- Registration Date
- 2008-06-30
- Status
- Active
- CharityData Rating
- C- (56.9/100)
- Sector
- Education
- Location
- Hamilton, Hamilton
- Website
- http://www.waikato.ac.nz
- harperke@waikato.ac.nz
- Data as at
- December 2023
Beneficiaries: General public, Other - All
Financial Summary
- Total Revenue
- $317.4M NZD
- Total Expenses
- $323.5M NZD
- Total Assets
- $943.3M NZD
- Net Assets
- $730.3M NZD
- Reserve Months
- 0.1 months of operating expenses
- Staff Count
- 1713
- Volunteers
- 0
- Financial Year End
- 2023-12-31
Financial History
| Year | Revenue | Expenses | Net Assets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $317.4M | $323.5M | $730.3M |
| 2022 | $0.3M | $0.3M | $0.7M |
| 2021 | $267.3M | $264.3M | $652.3M |
| 2020 | $265.8M | $273.2M | $627.5M |
| 2019 | $279.6M | $271.4M | $517.6M |
| 2018 | $278.3M | $247.5M | $509.2M |
| 2017 | $257.7M | $234.9M | $478.5M |
| 2016 | $248.2M | $234.7M | $388.4M |
| 2015 | $239.4M | $231.1M | $375.0M |
| 2014 | $225.3M | $216.2M | $365.4M |
CharityData Rating
- Overall Grade
- C-
- Overall Score
- 56.9/100
- Financial Score
- 72
- Governance Score
- 55
- Transparency Score
- 65
Red Flags
- 2 trustees of this charity also sit on multiple other charity boards — concentrated trustee bandwidth may warrant board-skill-mix review.
Board Members and Officers
Current Officers (4)
| Name | Role | Appointed |
|---|---|---|
| Paul Kench | Pro Vice Chancellor | 2026-04-01 |
| Seamus Lohrey | Council Member | 2026-01-01 |
| Erin Wansbrough | Council Member | 2025-09-08 |
| Fiona Michel | Council Member | 2025-09-08 |
Former Officers (107)
- Te Ururoa Flavell — Pro-Chancellor
- Tim Smith — Pro-Vice-Chancellor
- Jennifer Kerr — Pro-Vice-Chancellor
- Temple Smith — Council Member (departed 2025-12-31)
- Jennifer Milam — Deputy-Vice-Chancellor-Academic
- Joseph Lane — Pro-Vice-Chancellor
- Tracy Bowell — Pro-Vice-Chancellor-Academic-Quality
- Gary Wilson — Deputy-Vice-Chancellor-Research
- Claire McLachlan — Pro-Vice-Chancellor
- George Liu — Council Member (departed 2024-12-31)
- Michelle Blake — Council Member
- Maryanne McLeod — Council Member
- Lushomo Thebe — Council Member (departed 2023-12-31)
- Joanne McLean — Council Member
- Meleane Burgess — Council Member (departed 2025-09-07)
- Patrick Leman — Pro-Vice-Chancellor (departed 2024-10-11)
- Matt Bolger — Pro-Vice-Chancellor (departed 2024-12-31)
- Professor Bryony James — Deputy-Vice-Chancellor-Research (departed 2023-10-31)
- Kyla Campbell-Kamariera — Council Member (departed 2021-12-31)
- Wayne Morgan — Council Member (departed 2021-01-31)
Executive Compensation
| Name | Role | Compensation | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not named in document | Vice-Chancellor | - | 2020 |
| Neil Quigley | Vice-Chancellor | - | 2021 |
| Unknown Chancellor | Chancellor | - | 2021 |
| David Walker | Auditor | - | 2022 |
| Unknown | Vice-Chancellor | - | 2020 |
| Professor Eva Collins | Council Member (former Staff Representative) | - | 2023 |
| Chancellor | Chancellor | - | 2021 |
| Unknown | Vice-Chancellor | - | 2022 |
| Michelle Blake | University Librarian, Council Member (Staff Representative) | - | 2023 |
| Paki Rawiri | Council Member (Kīngitanga Representative, former) | - | 2023 |
| Eva Collins | Council Member (Staff Representative, former) | - | 2023 |
| Nga wai hono i te po Paki | Council Member | - | 2023 |
| Not disclosed in provided text | Chancellor | - | 2022 |
Major Funders and Contracts (FY2023)
As disclosed in University Of Waikato's annual report.
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited — Land lease for Hamilton campus in perpetuity
Service Providers
- PwC
- Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (ICBC)
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
- ASB Bank Limited
- ASB Bank Limited
- Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (ICBC)
- ASB
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
- Tainui Group Holdings Limited
Reporting Group Members
University Of Waikato files a consolidated Annual Return jointly with 5 sibling charities:
- The University of Waikato Foundation
- The University Of Waikato Research Trust
- WaikatoLink Limited
- iEngagEd Limited
- The Students Campus Building Fund Trust
Similar Charities in Education
- The Hato Paora Trust Board — Education
- Otago Presbyterian Girls' College Board of Governors Incorporated — Education
- Hawksbury Community Living Trust — Education
- Far North Reap Society Incorporated — Education
- Victoria University of Wellington Students Association and Te Aka Tauira Incorporated — Education
University Of Waikato
Financial data as at December 2023. Sourced from Charities Services register.
Reasons to look carefully (3)
These structural observations are drawn from public data and are worth considering before a donation. They are not allegations of wrongdoing, and they don’t affect the charity’s letter grade.
- No chair recorded on the registerNo chair or presiding role is recorded in the register for this board of 23. The Charities Register does not require one to be identified, so this is a gap in the public record rather than a finding about the board.
- Current annual return overdueThe newest annual return we hold is 33 months old — a more recent return may already be on the Charities Services register
- Shared trustees with reporting-group siblings6 current trustees also serve on the board of another charity in the same Charities Services reporting group (group has 6 member charities filing one consolidated annual return). Group-internal cross-trusteeship can be operationally efficient but should be visible to donors.
Each signal is a data-driven observation, not a judgement. They fire automatically from the figures filed with Charities Services. A charity can address any of these by filing fuller disclosure or updating its officer register. Methodology: /about/methodology/concern-signals.
$317.4M
$323.5M
$943.3M
1,713
Financial data from Charities Services annual return (FY2023). Ratings calculated using CharityData v3.1.1 methodology.
Reporting group parent. University Of Waikato files one consolidated annual return covering 5 members. Member-level figures are not separately reported with Charities Services.
About
The University of Waikato provides goods and services for community and social benefit, primarily through the provision of tertiary education and research.
Who We Serve
Key Statistics
Financial Trends
Financial Trends (16 Years)
Revenue Breakdown
Expense Breakdown
API DataBased on annual return data. Detailed program/admin breakdown not available.
Financial Health Dashboard
Based on latest annual return data. Metrics are calculated from reported financial data and may not reflect the full picture. View methodology
Revenue Diversification
HHI (Herfindahl–Hirschman Index) measures concentration across 6 income categories. Lower HHI = more diversified. Score above 60 indicates healthy diversification.
Peer Comparison
Ranked against 500 peers · Education (all sizes)
Top Peers in Group
Peers are charities in the same sector and revenue size band. Rankings are based on the latest available data.
Rating
C-Is this your charity?
Claim your profile to view analytics, submit corrections, and improve your rating.
Claim This ProfileContact Details
Registration
Companies Office
Sector & Activities
Data sourced from Charities Services register and publicly available annual returns. Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. Scores are calculated using disclosed methodology and are analytical tools, not investment ratings or recommendations. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@charitydata.co.nz. For informational purposes only. Not investment advice. Last updated: 28 September 2026.
Reporting Group — Consolidated Annual Return
University Of Waikato is one of 6 charities in a Charities Services reporting group. Members file a single consolidated Annual Return together, so the financial figures on each member’s page reflect the combined group — not standalone operations.
Similar Charities in Education
Other Education charities ranked by overall score
Common questions
Questions people searching for University Of Waikato commonly ask — and whether the data on this page answers them.
What is the most needed item to donate?▾
Who has donated the most money to a university?▾
Is Waikato a good university?▾
How much do lecturers make at the University of Waikato?▾
Who is the vice-chancellor of the University of Waikato?▾
Is the University of Waikato a crown entity?▾
What rank is Waikato University in the world?▾
Is the University of Waikato accredited?▾
What is New Zealand's No. 1 university?▾
What is the hardest university to get into in NZ?▾
Questions sourced from Google "People also ask" for this entity. Answers are search snippets — check linked sources and the rest of this page for verified data.